Seidel and Mahalsky Take Championship Titles at 2017 Mayor's Cup Cross Country Championships

A picture-perfect day awaited athletes from beginning runners to experienced Olympians

Molly Seidel and Ryan Mahalsky ran their way to victories at the Boston Mayor’s Cup Cross Country Meet on Sunday, October 22, earning dominant wins on a picture-perfect day for racing. Hosted by the B.A.A. and USATF New England with support from Boston Parks & Recreation and adidas, the Mayor’s Cup Cross Country meet brought together runners of all ages. You can view the top three in each race below, or search full results here.

Seidel, a former NCAA Cross Country National Champion at Notre Dame, recently moved to Watertown, MA and made a memorable Franklin Park debut. Through the mile in 5:15, Seidel was joined by Amy van Alstine and Violah Lagat, as well as two-time Olympian and 2011 Boston Marathon runner-up Des Linden. Dartmouth graduate and 2016 Olympian Abbey D’Agostino was among the leaders, too.

After cresting Bear Cage Hill, Seidel opened up her stride and quickly gained a ten second lead at two miles (10:28). From there, Seidel cruised to a 16:18 win; her time ranks as the second-fastest Women’s 5K in Franklin Park course history (only behind Mary Cullen’s 16:15 in 2008).

Placing second in 16:48 was D’Agostino, making a triumphant return to racing after recovering from an ACL and meniscus tear suffered at the Rio Olympics in 2016. Third went to Chelsea Blase in 16:49, followed by Lagat (16:51) and Linden (16:53).

The women’s team champions were the Hansons-Brooks Distance Project (20 points), followed by Battle Road Track Club (54) and Greater Boston Track Club (71). NE Distance was fourth (73).

In the Men’s 8K, Ryan Mahalsky of the Hansons-Brooks Distance Project led a three-man group through the mile in 4:35 and 5K in 14:53, joined only by Tommy Curtin and Ian Lemere. Mahalsky made his move between the third and fourth mile, gapping the pair by 17 seconds. At the line, the margin would be 13 seconds: Mahalsky taking the win in 23:37, with Curtin second in 23:50 and Julian Oakley third in 23:57. Lemere wound up fourth in 24:10.

Mahalsky’s time ironically is the exact same as 2016 winner Jim Spisak. In the team standings, Ocean State AC/New Balance was first with 25 points, placing five in the top fifteen. Tracksmith Hare AC was second (72), with Battle Road Track Club third (80) and the B.A.A. fourth (90). Leading the B.A.A. was Guillaume Adam in 24:33, good for eighth place.

Billy Looney of the B.A.A. Running Club won the Franklin Park 5K in 16:28. The B.A.A. placed three men in the top 12, leading to a team win with 15 points. Molly Evak, Executive Director of Girls on the Run of Southeastern Connecticut, was the women’s winner in 18:55.

The Mayor's Cup Cross Country races also included multiple youth events for local school and town clubs. More than 400 youths raced a 1.1-mile course that included Bear Cage Hill.