126th Boston Marathon Post-Race Stats and Storylines

BOSTON—  With the 126th Boston Marathon complete, please find below a number of preliminary race statistics and notes, including information on tomorrow morning’s wrap up press conference. We congratulate our champions and all participants who earned their coveted 126th Boston Marathon unicorn medals.

Thank you for your continued coverage of the 126th Boston Marathon, and we look forward to the 127th Boston Marathon on April 17, 2023. As a reminder, the next B.A.A. race is the 2022 B.A.A. 10K presented by Brigham and Women’s Hospital on June 26, 2022.

126th Boston Marathon Starters, Finishers, and Stats

126th Boston Marathon Facts & Notes

Men’s Professional Division

  • Evans Chebet (KEN) won his first Boston Marathon title in 2:06:51, the eighth-fastest time in Boston Marathon history
  • Chebet avenges a DNF from the 2018 Boston Marathon, his lone other attempt at the Hopkinton-to-Boston course.
  • Chebet has completed three other Abbott World Marathon Majors- the TCS London Marathon in 2021, the Tokyo Marathon in 2017, and the BMW Berlin Marathon in 2016.
  • Chebet was followed across the line by Lawrence Cherono (KEN) in 2:07:21 and Benson Kipruto (KEN) in 2:07:27.

Women’s Professional Division

  • Peres Jepchirchir (KEN) became the first athlete in history to have won the Boston, New York City, and Olympic Marathon titles with a final time of 2:21:01.
  • Jepchirchir is the fifth Olympic Marathon champion to win Boston. This was her Boston Marathon debut.
  • Today’s race was the sixth-closest finish in women’s race history, as Jepchirchir defeated Ababel Yeshaneh (ETH) by four seconds (2:21:05) followed by Mary Ngugi (KEN) in 2:21:32.

Men’s Wheelchair Division

  • Daniel Romanchuk (IL) won his second Boston Marathon title in 1:26:58. Romanchuk also won the 2019 Boston Marathon (1:21:36). 
  • After early leads from Aaron Pike and Hiroki Nishida, Romanchuk took to the front and led for more than 23 of the 26.2 mile course. 
  • Romanchuk becomes the third American male to win at least two Boston Marathon wheelchair division titles (Bob Hall, two wins and Jim Knaub, five wins). Romanchuk’s margin of victory over Aaron Pike was five minutes, 51 seconds.

Women’s Wheelchair Division

  • Manuela Schär (SUI) won her fourth Boston Marathon crown in 1:41:08. Schär previously won the 2017 (course record 1:28:17), 2019 (1:34:19), and 2021 (1:35:21) races. 
  • Schär is the sixth athlete in women’s wheelchair division history to earn four Boston wins, joining Louise Sauvage,Wakako Tsuchida, Candace Cable-Brookes, Jean Driscoll, and Tatyana McFadden. 
  • Schär led from Hopkinton to Boston, finishing 5:12 ahead of runner-up Susannah Scaroni (USA, 1:46:20) and Madison De Rozario (AUS, 1:52:48). 

Para Athletics Divisions

  • Winners of the Para Athletics Divisions included:
    • Marko Cheseto Lemtukei (USA) in 2:37:01 (T61-T64 lower-limb impairment)
    • Liz Willis (USA) in 3:56:31 (T61-T64 lower-limb impairment)
    • Chaz Davis (USA) in 2:45:45  (T11/T12 vision impairment)
    • Joyce Cron (USA) in 4:31:36 (T11/T12 vision impairment)
    • Ary Carlos Santos (BRA) in 2:46:37 (T13 vision impairment)
    • Lisa Thompson (USA) in 3:47:25 (T13 vision impairment)

Notable Finishers

  • NASCAR driver Matt Kenseth finished in a time of 3:01:40.
  • Soccer player Ethan Zohn finished in a time of 5:02:44.
  • Previous The Bachelor lead Matt James finished in a time of 3:49:38.
  • Zac Clark, previous contestant on The Bachelorette finished in a time of 3:43:46.
  • Chris Nikic, the Dick & Rick Hoyt award-winner, ESPY honoree, and first athlete with Down Syndrome to complete an Ironman, finished in a time of 5:38:51.
  • Para athlete & advocate Adrianne Haslet finished in a time of 5:18:41.

126th Boston Marathon Honorary Team

  • 50 years after placing sixth at the 1972 Boston Marathon – the first to feature an official women’s division, Valerie Rogosheske finished in a time of 6:38:57 sporting bib no. 1972. She was joined on the course by her daughters Abigail and Allie.
  • Mary Ngugi finished in third place for the second year in a row, crossing the line in a time of 2:21:32.
  • Manuela Schär earned her fourth Boston Marathon title, completing the course in 1:41:08.
  • Paralympic medalist Melissa Stockwell finished in a time of 3:58:36.
  • Football and soccer star Sarah Fuller finished her first marathon in a time of 5:50:59.
  • Former U.S. National Team soccer player Kristine (Heavey) Lilly finished in a time of 3:54:42. This was Lilly’s second Boston Marathon, having her first ten years ago in 2012.
  • Guinness World Record holder Jocelyn Rivas finished her 112th marathon in a time of 4:40:47.
  • Native Women Running founder and activist Verna Volker finished in a time of 5:49:47.

Upcoming Media Availability: Tuesday, April 19th, 2022 at 10:00 a.m. ET


Boston Marathon Wrap-up Media Conference

Fairmont Copley Plaza, Grand Ball Room

126th Boston Marathon champions

Evans Chebet, Peres Jepchirchir, Daniel Romanchuk, and Manuela Schär will be available to the media for photos and interviews. B.A.A. President & CEO Tom Grilk, Boston Marathon Race Director Dave McGillivray, and Medical representatives.